Working for the Countryside

Call us now on
01423 541000
or contact us here


Regional Winners Announced for Farming Awards

The Tye Trophy Awards are made to the five regional winners of the competition which rewards good commercial farming coupled with sound environmental practice. Another important element is that of being an ambassador for the industry to encourage greater understanding of the important role that farmers play in producing our food. The climax of the competition comes at England’s premier agricultural show when the overall champion is announced.

Nigel Pulling, Chief Executive of the Yorkshire Agricultural Society which organises the event said: “As a Society our remit is to encourage and recognise good farming practice, and each year it’s very pleasing to see that the standard remains as high, if not higher than ever. I know the judges have once again had a difficult task, and we look forward to announcing the overall winner at the Great Yorkshire Show.”

Regional winners are:

North Yorkshire: S and C Coggrave of Church Farm, Tockwith, York.

West & South Yorkshire: WB & S Shaw of Manor Farm, Hooton Roberts, Rotherham

East Yorkshire: Mr G Hawcroft, Holme Lodge Farm, Holme on Spalding Moor

Tyne Tees: Mr & Mrs M Gray, Broom House Farm, Witton Gilbert, Durham

Northumberland: Mr S Henderson of West Fenton, Milfield, Wooler.

Each regional winner will receive £200 and an individual trophy, whilst the champion will receive a further cheque for £400 and the Tye Trophy.

The ceremony takes place at the Great Yorkshire Show on Wednesday 11 July when the President of the Society, Raymond Twiddle will present the awards.

Dates for the Great Yorkshire Show are Tuesday 10 – Thursday 12 July and it takes place at Great Yorkshire Showground, Harrogate. For more information see

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are essential to make our site work and have already been set. By using our site you accept the terms of our Privacy Policy.