YAS Team

Chairman of Yorkshire Agricultural Society

Nick Lane Fox

The YAS has long established links with the Lane Fox family, dating right back to the very start. Official history notes show that GL Fox MP of Bramham Park was among founder members at the Society’s inaugural meeting in York in 1837. Nick studied Agricultural Economics at Newcastle University, before joining the Army, where he served for 10 years, passing out top of the class at Sandhust and being selected for Staff College. Nick became a Horse Steward at the 1984 Great Yorkshire Show, he has been the Chief Ring Steward since 2001 and was elected onto the Society’s Council in 2005. Nick succeeded John Brennan as Chairman of the Audit & Investment Committee in 2013.

Show Director

Charles Mills

York farmer Charles Mills was appointed as Show Director of the Great Yorkshire Show and its sister event, Countryside Live in 2015.

He farms at Woolas Grange, Appleton Roebuck which is a mixed arable rotation, with a 250 ewe flock. Charles has recently launched a new business as a new rural wedding venue.

Charles has held a number of roles within the Yorkshire Agricultural Society, including Joint Chief Cattle Steward and as a member of the Society’s Council, its governing body, since 2002.

Charles has played a significant role in the educational aspect of the Society’s work, serving on its Grants and Education Committee and running arable workshops at the free Countryside Days which attract 6,000 primary school children every year. He is also a member of the management committee of the Society’s Future Farmers of Yorkshire.

Chief Executive of the Yorkshire Agricultural Society

Nigel Pulling

Nigel Pulling has been Chief Executive since 2002, after joining as Head of Finance and Commercial Enterprises the previous year.

He recently received an Award of the Associateship of Royal Agricultural Societies (ARAgS) at the House of Lords for outstanding contribution to agriculture.

Nigel was instrumental in planning the Regional Agricultural Centre – the YAS HQ – which opened in June 2009. He looks after the RAC’s tenants, land and property portfolio as well as overseeing all financial matters.

Nigel heads up the Society’s work to raise awareness of farming and the countryside within the education sector, supporting the industry through grants and sponsorship as well as staging the Great Yorkshire Show, Countryside Live and Springtime Live.

Managing Director of Yorkshire Event Centre and Deputy CEO of Yorkshire Agricultural Society

Heather Parry

Heather Parry has worked for the Yorkshire Agricultural Society since 1993, initially as Marketing Manager and subsequently as Managing Director of the Yorkshire Event Centre Ltd, alongside her role as Deputy Chief Executive. Heather was the mastermind behind building the Regional Agricultural Centre and onsite farm shop café Fodder as well as the £11 million development of Hall 1 of the Yorkshire Event Centre. Heather also launched the Harrogate Caravan Park in 2014 and all profits from these businesses go to help fund the work of the YAS.   She had previously worked in Earls Court Exhibition Centre organising and marketing The Royal Smithfield Show and The Royal Tournament.

President of the Yorkshire Agricultural Society

Sir William Worsley

Sir William is the Chair of the Forestry Commission and the National Forest Company. He was the Government’s National Tree Champion from 2018 – 2020.

He is Lay Canon of York Minster and a member of the Chapter and Cathedral Council. He is Chairman of the Howardian Hills AONB Joint Advisory Committee and a former member of the North York Moors National Park Authority. He is on the Court of the Merchant Taylors Company in London, a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and a Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Societies. A Deputy Lieutenant of North Yorkshire and lives at Hovingham in North Yorkshire where he runs his family’s award winning estate. Formerly President of the CLA, former Chairman of the Scarborough Building Society, director of the Skipton Building Society and Honorary Colonel of the Yorkshire Squadron of the Queens Own Yeomanry.

President Elect of the Yorkshire Agricultural Society

Margaret Chapman

Margaret has been Chief Cattle Steward at the Great Yorkshire Show since 2008, having become the first female Cattle Steward at the show in 1973. Margaret’s family has been part of the show for over 100 years as father Frank Chapman was an exhibitor and cattle steward and his uncle Joseph was showing Dairy Shorthorn Cattle in 1910. To celebrate the 150th show, Margaret introduced the Blythewood Pairs Competition in the Cattle Section to find the best matching pair of animals from each breed.

YAS Council Members

Linda Brudenell
Margaret Chapman
James Cooper Yorkshire Event Centre Board (Chair)
Guy Cowling
Steven Crabtree  Trustee, Audit & Investment
Fred Fairburn
Malcolm Gill
Stuart Goldie
James Hopwood
Christine Ryder Charitable Activities
Christine Thompson Trustee & Charitable Activities
East Yorkshire Henry Chadwick
John Fields
Fay Grace Charitable Activities (Chair)
Richard Morley
Geoff Riby
Caroline Sellers
West Yorkshire Rob Copley Trustee
David Green
Andrew Hughes
Nick Lane Fox Trustee (Chair) & Nomination (Chair)
Tom Rawson
Bob Richmond
South Yorkshire Richard Hincliffe
Chloe Palmer
Newton Wright
Co-opted Eddie Andrews
Geoff Brown
Neil Eastham
Andrew Fallows
Martin Fish
Charlie Forbes Adam Trustee
Alice Liddle
John North
Richard Rusby
Paul Russell Trustee & Audit and Investment
Vicky Scott
Michael Smith Charitable Activities
Ex-officio Matt Bagley Askham Bryan College
Rob Edwards Farmer Scientist Network
Bill Meredith Bishop Burton College
Harrogate Borough Council Cllr Margaret Atkinson
Cll Victoria Oldham
North Yorkshire County Council John Weighell
Non-Council Committee Members Helen Collin Audit and Investment (Chair)
Peter Molyneux Audit & Investment
Rebecca Scott Audit & Investment
John Stoddart-Scott Audit & Investment
John Fielden Charitable Activities
Martin Redfearn Charitable Activities
Maurice White Charitable Activities
Simon Theakston Remuneration
Peter Myers YEC Board
Keith Stewart YEC Board
Rob Whitehead YEC Board

Start typing and press Enter to search